favourite things

Books I will never read

I never used to buy books – I read a lot, but I like going to the library and borrowing out the maximum number of books and attempting to read them within the allotted two weeks (which often extended to two months and a few letters from the library pleading for their return). The thing is that when books cost around $25, you have to make do with buying one at a time and that satisfaction of having a pile of unread books next to the bed just doesn’t happen.

But then I discovered op shop books. In the past, I never bothered to look at the bookshelves in op shops because they were full of trashy romance novels, thriller novels from authors who seem to release a new book every month and Women Weekly magazines.

But let me say it now; I WAS WRONG! I don’t know if I was looking in the wrong op shops or if I was just blind to all the good books out there, but I have seen the light and now my bookshelf is full of an amazing mix of literature, biographies, Aussie writers and of course, chick lit. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m buying books faster than I can read them. But there’s actually a few that I will never read and this is what the post is about. Here are a few books I paid good money for, but will never read

1. Hellen Keller – The Story of My Life

Why I will never read it: It’s so old! It was published in 1923 and someone called “D.E. Nelson owned it in November 1927. I’ll admit, you can find older books like this in many op shops or for quite cheap at intage stores, but this was one of my favourite books when I was 9 years old. And the best part is this news article that was left inside:

Some of it’s been cut off because the article is longer than my scanner, but as you can see, this article was published in a newspaper (I don’t know which one) in 1943, when Keller was still alive. On the back of it, there is another note that she died in June 1968.

2. David Sedaris – Naked

Why I will never read it: It’s signed. As in personally, the ink-went-through-to-the-back-of-the-page, signed.

Now you probably noticed on the first picture that there’s a great big sticker proclaiming that this is a signed version, so I’m guessing that this might’ve been a promotion to get people to buy the book so there’s probably thousands of other signed copies out there, but I don’t care. I have an untouched, first edition, signed book and I’m going to keep it that way. I’m going to continue to be ridiculous because I do actually want to read this book, so I’ll be borrowing it out from my library. Yes, I will borrow a book I already own.

3. J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter och Dodsrelikerna

Why I will never read it: I don’t speak Swedish. Yes, I found Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows written in Swedish in a Perth op shop. And yes, I bought it. In fact, I was so incredibly happy when I found this because I actually collect Harry Potter books from other countries. Most people buy postcards when they go on holidays; I buy Harry Potter books. And it’s actually one of my favourite covers. You can’t see it in my blurry photo, but there’s dragons and Deatheaters and goblins and a little Deathly Hallows sybol floating around looking very spooky. One the back are some more gold gilded scribbles and the whole thing is just so beautiful.

One thought on “Books I will never read

Leave a Reply

