my home · not opshopped

Gumtree freebies

Surprise finds // opshopped.wordpress.com

I’ve been on the lookout for something that I can use as a liquor cabinet. I like to believe that if I have somewhere classy to store my alcohol, I won’t drink it as fast. I’ll let you know how that plan goes.

Anyway, I saw an ad on Gumtree for a !!FREE!! buffet that would be perfect. When I found out it hadn’t yet been claimed, I knew I’d have to go that day to collect it or risk missing out.

Turns out the person who placed the ad was employed to prepare houses for sale (rad job!). Usually she’d be given the task of cleaning a few dust bunnies before moving on to painting and laying new carpets, but this house was from a deceased estate and the family had left a whole lot of furniture and stuff behind.

The lady let us rummage through the boxes and wow WOW WOW there was so much amazing stuff. All my retro dreams came true, especially with the flour and sugar canisters.

Check it out!

Rabbit sketch // opshopped.wordpress.com

vintage and retro books

Retro cannisters // opshopped.wordpress.com

Retro kitchen scales // opshopped.wordpress.com

 

Tschotchkes // opshopped.wordpress.com

Retro radio // opshopped.wordpress.com

Does anyone know much about radios?

And FYI – the buffet never even fitted into my little car. But don’t worry, I’ll be back with a bigger car on the weekend because it is perfect!

6 thoughts on “Gumtree freebies

  1. Hi! I saw your comment on A Cup of Jo and wanted to let you know that I rent out my apt in NYC through AirBnB if you are interested. If you would like more information let me know and I’m happy to send you the link!

Leave a Reply

